Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

XAS ABS Battle problems

Hello people! I have currently started on my new RPG Project, and I am trying to use XAS ABS battle system.
For you who dont know about it, please read:

http://xasabs.wordpress.com/

The battle system means that you can battle enemies on the very maps, and dont transfer to a separate battle scene. The system uses skills called Tools that are on a separate map and are called to the current map when fighting.

I am a beginner at this so I used the XAS Original Project as a base for my Project and changed the main character.

The line SELF_MOTIONS [ID] = "name here" in every tool script means that the player will change graphic to the "name here" graphic and play that animation while performing the tool action (changing to a sword slash when using a sword etc.) I have a problem with this. The animation/graphic isn't changed to the given graphic when using a tool (I want to change "hero" to "hero using sword"). The swords's animation (slash) is shown but I don't get the player graphic to change to what I want.

I hope this Picture explains better:

2ykfhjr.png

See? I DONT want my player to stay in original graphic (like the in-game Picture), and I drew a sword in the
"sword-using graphic" and assigned the name of that "sword using sprite" in the script in SELF_MOTIONS.

WHY doesn't the player change graphic to the right Graphics, why is it still in original Graphics? I have tried to google it, and I keep finding that the tool-using Graphics should be assigned in SELF_MOTIONS where I assigned it.

Can somebody please explain this?

Thanks in advice!

regi

Sponsor