Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

Newbie window question

Drykul

Ok, just to start off, I've used RPG Maker since 95 was new. I've taken big breaks here and there. When XP came out, I started learning how to use RGSS, but didn't get too far before I gave up. Now I'm having a go with VX and hoping I'll last longer. So far, so good. First of all, I know what variables, arrays, hashes, methods, classes, etc all are and what they do. But I'm having some other newbie problems that I feel stupid that I can't figure out on my own.

For one, I remember XP having a script call function in the events where all you had to do was put in the class, with VX it doesn't seem to work the same. For instance, I was reading an old RGSS tutorial and the basis was this:
Code:
class Say_something

def initialize
     print "Say Something"
  end

end

Pretty simple, but I loaded up an event with the call script of Say_something.new, and it didn't work. I'm sure someone call tell me what I'm doing wrong.

Secondly, One thing I'm trying to do is create two seperate windows at the same time. The bottom window has different options to select and the top window displays info about the selected item. A couple of questions about that.

For the life of me, I can't figure out why I'm getting a "ArgumentError occurred while running script. wrong number of arguments(0 for 4)wth this:
***EDIT***
Ok, I figured out how to get both windows up at the same time in the right places. They both come up at the same time, like expected, but after a couple of seconds, the top window just disappears. ?? I've got both windows in seperate classes being called seperatly by an event. Is that not the proper way of doing it?
***END EDIT***
Code:
class Windows < Window_Base

#Top window with description
   def top_win