Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

Mr. Spawn's image to panorama script.

Hello, i posted a few days ago with a request about using an image as a world map. As luck would have it, i stumbled across this script by sephiroth spawn, in response to a similar request, with instructions as to how this should be done. Here it is...

"Yes, you can do this. In Spriteset_Map, change the line:

CODE

@tilemap = Tilemap.new(@viewport1)
# any other lines dealing with @tilemap

# Change them to
if $game_switches[switch_id]
# Put all the previous @tilemap lines here
else
@tilemap = Sprite.new(@viewport1)
@tilemap.bitmap = RPG::Cache.picture($game_variables[variable_id])
end

Simple eh? For the people on this forum, probably. However, I'm new to all this. Like, completely rubbish. My problem is, i don't know exactly what to do with the script.
do i just change the line "@tilemap =Tilemap.new(@viewport1)" and all other lines containing "@tilemap" in the spriteset map script to "if $game switches[001]", or whatever, then put all of those lines containing "@tilemap" i changed underneath this line, followed by "else..." and end? And then activate the switch? Can someone tell me if this is correct? I found the link here: http://forums.rrrevolution.com/lofiversion/index.php?t5632.html

Thanks for reading, and/or responding. Cheerio.

well, this is a bump. i've tried, honestly i have. i can get other scripts to work sometimes, but i'm not really sure what the script format should be. if anyone can work out what to do with the above tutorial for using a panorama as a map, i'd be more than grateful. or, alternatively, a script which lets you see the panorama in the game editor, which i have never seen.

Go on, help me get started!