Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

How do i add a starting screen with text and pictures?

How would i make an intro with pictures and text?
I would like to know this please and thank you guys, because i am very new at RPG Maker XP and i just bought it :)

Fusty

Sponsor

Make a black picture (or whatever you want your background to look like) using paint for instance and add text to it. (don't forget, it has to be 640x480)
Then import it into the Picture Folder of RMXP.
Then make a blank intro map and create an autostart event with the Show Picture command.
You can add a move picture command to make the text scroll off the screen.
If one picture isn't enough you can make a second one appear by adding another Show Picture command.

Set the character set of your actor to none so that he's invisible when you see the intro.
I hope you can understand this since you are new to the program, if you don't I can try to make a demo for you.

Thanks but can you explain how i make a blank intro map? and how i create an autostart with the show picture command?
Thanks, but i am very new so that is why i dont know alot about it xD

viperj":xfpcpnxu said:
Open the event and check the Autorun box somewhere in the lower left corner.
Thanks man! And just wondering, after i finish my intro on my first map, how do i make it go to the second map automatically aswell? and the same about my character, how do i make him invisible and on the next make make him visible?
Thanks! xD

Fusty

Sponsor

On the same event as before add a wait command after your Show Picture command so you won't teleport until the intro is over, then add a Transfer Player command (2nd page of the event commands) to the map you want him to pop up.