Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

Creating Sprites

Hi everybody!! I'm a relatively new game programmer and the problem I'm finding I run into the most is that I happen to be an atrocious artist. I find it almost impossible to make good sprites with the in-game sprite editor and I basically have to use anything I can find on the internet. What can I do?

Hi, welcome to the site!

If you're interested in learning we have quite a few pixel artists who hang around the artwork forum, if you feel like posting any attempts or works in progress they're quite good at critique and such.

viewforum.php?f=159

We do have a requests forum, and a recruitment forum, but generally it's hard to find artists who'll work for free;

Single requests: viewforum.php?f=10
Recruitment: viewforum.php?f=220

The only other thing I can suggest is posting your games around to show people how good they are, combined with something in your forum signature saying you're looking to work with an artist, and see if anyone comes along. The more people know your name, the happier they'll be to work alongside you.

Good luck.

Welcome!

This is just my two cents. Your mileage may vary.

When I first started (and still to this day, in fact), I focused on gameplay first. A good game is good, even with poor art.
Case in point: viewtopic.php?f=77&t=74519

Besides, if you make a good game, it will be easy to recruit some help on art. Don't expect help without either something to show, or some money to invest, as artists know to be wary of the number of unfinished projects, and are hesitant to commit (quite understandably).

And yes, of course, check the links Amy provided to get better at art.