Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

MySQL and RMXP

Seto

Hello,
I would like to access (read and write) a MySql database directly from my game. I would like to know if any one has done this before or if they could help me. I am hoping there is already a .dll or a library that could help to do this which would make this alot easier. since I am new to ruby I don't know were to look.

The reason behind wanting to do this is so I can make my game online with out the need for a sever running on my computer. I know this would be laggy but I am not putting the whole game online just some mini games that would only need to read and write basic data from the database. I will also allow players to battle each other with the default battle system that comes with rmxp. (I have already worked out how I am going to do it). And even if I can't make the game online I would like to be able to upload stats onto my website which I can also easily do with the MySQL database.

Thanks for taking time to read this post and please don't be too mean when replying.

e

Sponsor

There's probably a workaround. setsockopt basically sets up the socket for a given protocol or system; basically, set socket options.

It seems the Winsock module supports the method setsockopt; so adding a quick function to the Socket class would do:

Code:
class Socket
  def setsockopt(level, optname, optval)
    Winsock.setsockopt(@fd, level, optname, optval)
  end
end

Dunno if that'd work, but that'd be the gist of it. Maybe it'll need some tweaking.

Seto

Thanks,