Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

Help with Quest monsters.

Im new to RMXP and have a very basic understanding of events and variables. What i want to know is how do i make a certain item drop off of a random monster once a quest is accepted, but the item only drops once. Ive created a new monster that has the item as a drop, but i cant seem to make it appear for the quest. Ive looked for a tutorial and havent found one :S help or a link to a tutorial will be great :D thanks!

:sad: ive tried the edited version from wichu, but the item stil drops more than once while the quest is active... and im not very good with scritpting so i havent tried sephirothspawn's, can i just ask which section it needs to go in and i'll give that a try. Thanks for all the help from you guys though, its really appreciated. :biggrin:

Don't worry...
After the character gets the item or something, make a variable that is equal to the amount of items of that kind you have. reduce it by 1. then change the amount of items you have by that variable.
@Control Variable=[1234] = [Quest Thingy] in inventroy
@Control Variable=[1234] -= 1
@Change Items: [Quest Thingy], -Variable [1234]
that way if you loot over 1 at a time it'll take all the other items away

Thanks Muffins, but its not the problem of dropping more than once per fight, its more than once from different encounters while the quest is active, if thats what you meant i appologise.

I've been thinking about how to help, since it seems that my event hasn't seem to work for you. So, I've come up with a variant.
@>Conditional Branch: Variable[0009]==1
@>Conditional Branch: Item [quest item]==1
@>Text: You find have the item. (or you could just have nothing)
: Else
@>Control Variables:[0010]+=RandomNo.(0...10)