Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

Critique Aftermath

Copied from my blog at: http://bubblymusings.wordpress.com/

So last night, in class, my writing was critiqued by the students/teacher. Of course, before it began, I was feeling terrible. Several times I thought about just leaving, but I knew I had to hear what they thought. I wanted to know.

Basically, they liked the tone, characters, story, and imagery. Some of them wanted more of the story, and were very intrigued. They could even relate to the main character and enjoyed her snarky narration. I had several omitted words, typos and strange sentence structures, however.

I’m not sure how I should feel about the critique.

Does this mean I’m a good writer who just forgets words and writes strangely? Or am I simply good at making up stories and telling them?

Their interpretations were interesting, which means I succeeded in that part.

The teacher said she loved how the story/first chapter ended. It summed up the main character’s feelings nicely. Though she said the manuscript started very abruptly. I can see her point, though.

Here is a link to the story if you wish to read it:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4j4xf41qey6sy ... STORY.docx

The story was actually supposed to be the first seven pages of our novel. I wasn't writing a book by myself at the time, so I made something up based on an idea I had for years. I did rush it a bit, because I only had a week's notice of turning something in. I don't think I'll finish it, but I don't really know.

I got mixed imagery. You could have plugged in details earlier on.