Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

Art Help Topic

Hello. I'm just putting all the information I gain in the forums here to keep everything organized. Plus, it might help others!

bacon":39mvlqnx said:
Strawberrii":39mvlqnx said:
I draw every single day, all the time, and you guys are STILL better than me! :D
You would get better if you drew things out of your comfort zone more. I know Andrew loomis has all of his books online (not by his choice he is dead [i would like to think if he was still alive he would put them up anyways]). I spent a good 6 months studying proportion of faces and bodies and while I'm not great at them, I got significantly better.

Andrew Loomis art books:
http://www.alexhays.com/loomis/

bacon":39mvlqnx said:
I'm not good with drawing a circle for a head than doing all the placement on it either. D=
well then you are never going to be good at faces, period
art takes time and a lot of work. You cant just expect to be magically good. I spent 2 hours just drawing spheres with lines in order to understand the perspective of a sphere. It is all about just buckling down and practicing. I always like to think that when you attempt something new, it is probably going to be the worst draft of the thing you are drawing. After that, you can only get better.

Venetia":39mvlqnx said:
You underestimate your skill Straw but you can't improve unless you start doing things you wouldn't normally do (like hyper-realism, men, animals, scenery).

And eyes are the easiest! Just arcs and arcs. If you look at someone's eyes, it's just curves and arcs all over the place.

Try this -- super serious -- try to draw some random curvy thing in your house. Like a piece of fruit or an old-fashioned telephone or a shampoo bottle.